‘Against’ Statements Wanted For Clark County Voter’s Guide



With each election, the Clark County Auditor’s Office provides an online and printed Voters Guide with information on candidates and voting metrics. The guides are intended to help voters make informed decisions when voting. The voter guide includes statements and photographs of candidates for elected office as well as local voting metrics with statements of support and opposition written by citizens.

A legislative body that writes a measure on the ballot paper may appoint a committee to draft a statement of support and another committee to draft a statement to the contrary. Often, the Elections Office only receives a receipt. If the group cannot identify anyone to oppose the ballot measure, no statement of opposition is written or submitted. If the election office does not receive a favorable or unfavorable statement for a local voting measure, staff attempt to identify citizens interested in drafting such a statement.

For the February 2022 special elections, the Elections Office received five proposals for which no citizen is designated to write a statement against. These are: a City of Vancouver ballot proposal to lift the fire and emergency services and facilities tax cover; a proposed Green Mountain School District vote for a replacement of educational programs and operating costs; a Hockinson School District ballot proposal for a replacement tax for school programs and operations; a proposed La Center School District vote for an alternative tax for educational programs and operations; and a proposal to vote by the Ridgefield School District for a general obligation of $ 62,565,000.

For the full text of resolutions, voting language and other resolutions for the February special election, go to clarkvotes.org and follow the link to February 8, 2022, Special Election Information near the top of the page.

Any registered voter interested in making a declaration to the contrary is asked to contact Election Supervisor Cathie Garber at 564-397-2345.

The deadline is Tuesday at 4 p.m.



Comments are closed.