Dante Stills, only West Virginia player to make Big 12 Honors list | News, Sports, Jobs



West Virginia players celebrate after beating Iowa State in an NCAA college football game in Morgantown, W.Va. on Saturday, October 30, 2021 (AP Photo / Kathleen Batten)

Cyclones RB Hall, Bears’ Aranda and Pitre take AP Big 12 honors


Iowa State running back Breece Hall is The Associated Press Big 12 offensive player of the year for the second straight season, while conference champion Baylor has the league’s best defenseman and coach.

Baylor senior safety Jalen Pitre was named Defensive Player of the Year and Bears second-year coach Dave Aranda was also honored on the AP All-Big 12 squad and the awards were presented Thursday, as determined by the vote of a panel of 20 sports writers and sports commentators. who regularly cover the league.

Hall leads the Big 12 on the ground with 1,464 yards and 20 touchdowns this season, and has an active FBS record of 24 consecutive games with one touchdown. The junior, who received 16 of 20 votes for best offensive player, has 3,941 career rushing yards.

Texas freshman Xavier Worthy, who had 62 catches and leads the Big 12 with 981 yards and 12 touchdowns, was named Newcomer of the Year. He’s also a first-team All-Big 12 pick at receiver.

Aranda got 15 of the 20 votes for Coach of the Year. Mike Gundy of Oklahoma State, whose team lost to Baylor in the Big 12 Championship game, got the other five.

Pitre, a first-team safety for the second year in a row, had 17½ tackles for a loss and was the only player in the country during the regular season with at least three forced fumbles, three fumble recoveries and two interceptions. Pitre got 12 of 20 votes for best defensive player while Oklahoma State linebacker Malcolm Rodriguez, with a total of 119 total tackles, got five votes.


The 2021 AP All-Big 12 team, curated by a panel of 20 sports writers and sports commentators who regularly cover the league, with players listed alphabetically by name, school, height, weight, class, and hometown. (“U-” indicates unanimous selection):



QB – Brock Purdy, State of Iowa, 6-1, 220, Sr., Gilbert, Arizona.

RB – Breece Hall, State of Iowa, 6-1, 220, Jr., Wichita, Kansas.

RB – Bijan Robinson, Texas, 6-0, 214, So., Tucson, Arizona.

T – Cooper Beebe, Kansas State, 6-3, 320, So., Kansas City, Kansas.

T – Connor Galvin, Baylor, 6-7, 310, Sr., Katy, Texas.

G – Josh Sills, Oklahoma State, 6-6, 325, Sr., Sarahville, Ohio.

G – Trevor Downing, State of Iowa, 6-4, 310, Jr., Creston, Iowa.

C – Steve Avila, TCU, 6-4, 334, Jr., Arlington, Texas.

TE – u-Charlie Kolar, State of Iowa, 6-6, 260, Sr., Norman, Oklahoma.

WR – Xavier Worthy, Texas, 6-1, 160, Fr., Fresno, Calif.

WR – Xavier Hutchinson, State of Iowa, 6-3, 230, Sr., Jacksonville, Florida.

All Purpose – Trestan Ebner, Baylor, 5-11, 215., Sr., Henderson, Texas.

K – Jonathan Garibay, Texas Tech, 6-1, 215, Sr., Rubidoux, Calif.


DE – Felix Anudike-Uzomah, Kansas State., 6-3, 255, So., Kansas City, Missouri.

DE – Will McDonald IV, State of Iowa, 6-4, 245, Jr., Pewaukee, Wisconsin.

DT – Siaki Ika, Baylor, 6-4, 350, So., Salt Lake City, Utah.

DT – Dante Stills, West Virginia, 6-4, 280, Sr., Fairmont, West Virginia.

LB – Terrel Bernard, Baylor, 6-1, 222, Sr., La Porte, Texas.

LB – Malcolm Rodriguez, Oklahoma State, 5-11, 225, Sr., Wagoner, Oklahoma.

LB– Mike Rose, State of Iowa, 6-4, 250, Sr., Brecksville, Ohio.

CB – Jarrick Bernard-Converse, Oklahoma State, 6-1, 200, Sr., Shreveport, Louisiana.

CB – Tre’Vius Hodges-Tomlinson, TCU, 5-9, 177, Jr., Waco, TX.

S – Kolby Harvell-Peel, Oklahoma State, 6-0, 207, Sr., College Station, Texas.

S – Jalen Pitre, Baylor, 6-0, 197, Sr., Stafford, TX.

P – Michael Turk, Oklahoma, 6-0, 230, Sr., Dallas.



QB – Caleb Williams, Oklahoma, 6-1, 218, Fr., Washington DC

RB – Abram Smith, Baylor, 5-11, 221, Sr., Abilene, Texas.

RB – Deuce Vaughn, Kansas State, 5-6, 173, So., Round Rock, Texas.

T – Derek Kerstetter, Texas, 6-5, 310, Sr., San Antonio.

T – Tyrese Robinson, Oklahoma, 6-3, 324, Sr., McKinney, Texas.

G – Marquis Hayes, Oklahoma, 6-5, 325, Sr., St. Louis.

G – Chris Murray, Oklahoma 6-1, 301, Sr., Palmdale, Calif.

C – Jacob Gall, Baylor, 6-2, 305, Sr., Cincinnati.

TE – Jeremiah Hall, Oklahoma, 6-2, 248, Sr., Charlotte, NC.

WR – Tay Martin, Oklahoma State, 6-3, 186, Sr., Houma, Louisiana.

WR – Tyquan Thornton, Baylor, 6-3, 182, Sr., Miami.

All Purpose – Malik Knowles, Kansas State 6-3, 195, Mansfield, Texas.

K – Gabe Brkic, Oklahoma, 6-3, 201, Jr., Chardon, Ohio.


DE – Brock Martin, Oklahoma State, 6-3, 250, Sr., Oologah, Oklahoma.

DE – Collin Oliver, Oklahoma State, 6-2, 225, Fr., Oklahoma City.

DT – Eyioma Uwazurike, State of Iowa, 6-6, 320, Sr., Detroit.

DT – Perrion Winfrey, Oklahoma., 6-4, 292, Sr., Maywood, Illinois.

LB – Brian Asamoah, Oklahoma, 6-1, 228, Jr., Columbus, Ohio.

LB – Nik Bonitto, Oklahoma, 6-3, 240, Jr., Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

LB – Colin Schooler, Texas Tech, 6-2, 230, Sr., Dana Point, Calif.

CB – DaMarcus Fields, Texas Tech, 6-0, 200, Sr., Taylor, Texas.

CB – Christian Holmes, State of Oklahoma, 6-1, 205, Sr., Leland, Mississippi.

S – Kenny Logan, Jr., Kansas, 6-0, 205, Jr., St. Augustine, Fla.

S – Russ Yeast, Kansas State, 5-10, 195, Sr., Danville, Ky.

P – Austin McNamara, Texas Tech, 6-4, 195, Jr., Gilbert, Arizona.


Coach of the Year – Dave Aranda, Baylor.

Offensive Player of the Year – Breece Hall, RB, Iowa State.

Defensive Player of the Year – Jalen Pitre, S, Baylor.

Newcomer of the Year – Xavier Worthy, WR, Texas.


AP All-Big 12 Voting Panel: Ryan Aber, The Oklahoman; Eric Bailey, Tulsa World; Kirk Bohls, American statesman from Austin; Chuck Carlton, Dallas Morning News; Brian Davis, American statesman from Austin; Drew Davison, Fort Worth Star-Telegram; Arne Green, Salina Journal; Travis Hines, Des Moines Register; Eric Kelly, KWKT-TV, Waco, Texas; Eli Lederman, Tulsa World; Sean Manning, The Dominion Post; Kansas City star Jesse Newell; Randy Peterson, Des Moines Register; Ryan Pritt, Charleston Gazette-Mail; Kellis Robinett, Wichita Eagle; Carlos Silva, Jr., Lubbock Avalanche-Journal; Matt Tait, Lawrence Journal World; John Werner, Waco Tribune-Herald; Don Williams, Lubbock Avalanche-Journal; Scott Wright, The Oklahoman.


More AP College Football: https://apnews.com/Collegefootball and https://twitter.com/AP_Top25



Comments are closed.