Dean of Journalism inducted into Nevada Broadcasters Association Hall of Fame


Reynolds School of Journalism Dean Alan Stavitsky was honored at the 26th Annual Nevada Broadcasters Association Hall of Fame Gala in Las Vegas last Saturday. Stavitsky, the school’s longest serving dean of journalism, was inducted into the association’s Hall of Fame in recognition of his dedicated career in the broadcasting industry.

The NVBA Hall of Fame was established in 1996 to recognize longevity and distinction among state broadcasters who have worked in the industry for at least 20 years.

“Dean Stavitsky’s induction into the Nevada Broadcasting Association Hall of Fame is a testament to his distinguished broadcasting career and his commitment to journalistic excellence in Nevada,” said Jeff Thompson, executive vice president of the Nevada Broadcasting Association. University of Nevada, Reno. “I am delighted that he received this well-deserved honor.”

Stavitsky’s radio career dates back more than 40 years, beginning as a high school student in New Jersey. He worked professionally in radio and television in Wisconsin and Ohio before earning his doctorate at The Ohio State University. Throughout his career, Stavitsky has also served as a station board member and industry consultant, including writing an ethics guide for the U.S. public radio system, publishing guidance documents for the Corporation for Public Broadcasting and helping Finland’s national broadcaster launch a new digital radio channel. .

During Stavitsky’s tenure as Dean of the Reynolds School, the school won numerous awards, including the Online News Association’s Grand Prize for Innovation in Journalism Education and the Equity Award. and Diversity from the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication.

In addition to serving as Dean of the Reynolds School for the past decade, Stavitsky has remained active in the broadcasting industry overseeing the University of Nevada, Reno’s public radio stations: KUNR, KNCJ, and KNCC. at Elko. He also holds the position of Distinguished Scholar at the Library of Congress for Radio History and serves on the board of the Nevada Broadcasters Foundation.


Comments are closed.