Gary Van Sickle and John Fischer win the ING Writing Awards


Morning Read/SI’s Gary Van Sickle and John Fischer were the winners of the International Golf Writing Media Network’s 28th annual annual awards program announced Wednesday at the 2022 PGA Merchandise Show.

Van Sickle has received the most individual awards of any writer. He earned first place in the Opinion/Editorial Writing category for his article in the Arizona Golf Insider titled “Thank you, Tiger, for everything.”

He received honors for outstanding achievement in four categories:

A Man For All Seasons by Fischer won first place in the profile category. This play tells the story of Sammy Byrd, who played for the New York Yankees during the Babe Ruth era and came close to winning the Masters twice.

Morning Read contributor Ann Liguori won Best Radio Show for the second year in a row for her “Talking Golf With Ann Liguori” on New York’s WFAN.

Len Ziehm, also a Morning Read contributor, won outstanding honors in the contest’s writing and podcast categories.

Wisconsin.Golf’s Gary D’Amato won first place in three categories, the most of any writer, and received an outstanding honor.

Here is the full list of winners, courtesy of ING:

1st place: John Steinbreder, Global Golf Post (“A History of the Game in Golf”).
Outstanding Directors: Ken MacLeod, Golf Oklahoma (“College golfers examine NIL options”); Sally J. Sportsman, Golf Business Magazine (“PGA National Resort and Spa – Leading by Example”); Ed Travis, Golfing Magazine New York (“The Uncertain Future of the PGA Show”).

1st place: Gary D’Amato, Wisconsin.Golf (“Thumbs Up Phil The Thrill!”)
Outstanding Directors: Bill Fields, The Albatross (“Two Sides Of The Ryder Cup”); Gary Van Sickle, Morning Read (“Matsuyama Takes a Bow”); Len Ziehm, Chicago Daily Herald (“US Dominates”).

1st place: Gary D’Amato, Wisconsin.Golf (“I put a few generations of my drivers to the test”)
Outstanding Directors: Bill Fields, The Memorial Tournament Magazine (“Thinking about the putter”); Gary Van Sickle, Morning Read Equipment Insider (“Cobra Putter brings 3D printing to life”).

1st place: David Weiss, FORE Magazine (“Le Penmar: an Oscar for food”).
Outstanding Directors: Kathy Bissell, (“Has the saw unlocked Morikawa’s putting genius?”); Tom Mackin, USGA Golf Journal (“Pioneers of the Desert”); John Steinbreder, Global Golf Post (“Return of the Lido”); Gary Van Sickle, Morning Read (“No, you don’t putt like a tour pro”).

1st place: Steve Kashul, The Golf Scene (“Medinah Country Club”)
Outstanding Director: Helen Farrelly, Met Golf Association (“The Road To The Majors: US Senior Women’s Open”).

1st place: Gary Van Sickle, Arizona Golf Insider (“Thank you, Tiger, for everything”).
Outstanding Directors: Tom Bedell, Golf Oklahoma (“Listen to your elders, you Whippersnappers”); Gary D’Amato, Wisconsin.Golf (“But for God’s Grace”); Tina Mickelson, FORE Magazine, (“First Cut: One For The Aged”); Jeff Neuman, The Met Golfer (“Best Intentions (Original)”);

1st place: Ken MacLeod, (“Ryder Cup with Major Ed”).
Outstanding Directors: Frank LaRosa, People Who Play the Game (“David Feherty”); Rory Spears/Len Ziehm, Ziehm & Spears On Golf (“Saving the John Deere Classic”).

1st place: John Fischer, Morning Read (“A Man for All Seasons”).
Outstanding Directors: Farrell Evans, the golfer met (“Stroke Saver”); Mike McCallister, NCGA Golf Magazine (“Growing Up Bryson”); Rory Spears, Ryder Cup Championship Program (“Making A Splash – Host Professional Dirk Willis”); Gary Van Sickle, (“Steve Stricker can be the perfect captain”).

1st place: NCGA Golf, Fall Issue (Adam Schupak, editor).
Outstanding Achievements: FORE Magazine, Spring Issue (Jonathan Coe, Editor); Golf Oklahoma, April/May issue (Ken MacLeod, editors); The Met Golfer, June/July issue (Jeff Neuman, editor).

1st place: Rich Styles, Back 9 Boys Golf Show, ESPN Coastal (“Jack Nicklaus II Interview”)
Outstanding Directors: Holly Geoghegan, Golf Insiders (“Interview with Peter Kostis”); Frank LaRosa, Golf To Go, KHTK Sacramento (“A Conversation with Dottie Pepper”)

1st place: Ann Liguori, Talking Golf With Ann Liguori, WFAN, New York (“August 29 broadcast”).
Outstanding Directors: Frank LaRosa, Golf To Go, KHTK Sacramento (“September 2 Show”); Rory Spears, Golfers On Golf, WCPT AM Chicago (“September 18 Show”).

1st place: Dave Lockhart, Golf360 (“Summer Special”).
Outstanding Director: Tony Leodora, Traveling Golfer, {“Travel Boom Show”).

1st place: Gary D’Amato; Golftime Midwest Magazine (“Wild At Heart”).
Outstanding Directors: Tony Dear, Links Magazine (“Your Own Public Idaho”); Tony Leodora, Golfstyles Magazine (“Travel Boom”); John Steinbreder, Global Golf Post (“Kohler Resort keeps moving forward, predictably”).


Comments are closed.